Skip To Main Content

Top teachers, staff honored at Inspire Celebration

Northwest ISD announced its Teachers of the Year and honored the top educators and staff across the district at its annual Inspire Celebration on Thursday, April 7, showcasing the tremendous teaching talent and staff support throughout the district.

With a strong field of educators competing for the overall district teaching honors, Britney Nichols of Schluter Elementary School earned the Elementary Teacher of the Year honor, while Kristy Butler of Medlin Middle School earned Secondary Teacher of the Year recognition. With these commendations, Mrs. Nichols and Mrs. Butler will now represent the district in the Region XI Teacher of the Year competition, which spans 76 pubic school districts as well as charter and private schools across and area of 7,843 square miles.

Additionally, all 31 Northwest ISD schools named their Exemplar Educators of the Year, honoring the district’s top teachers by campus for the 2021-2022 academic year. Northwest ISD’s Exemplar Educators, seen below, were selected following a rigorous process on their campus that evaluated their leadership, motivation and effectiveness in the classroom.

The Inspire Celebration also acknowledged the district’s Employees of the Year, retirees and some of Northwest ISD’s longest-serving staff members celebrating their major work anniversary milestones. Photographs of the ceremony can be found on the district's Flickr page

 Elementary Exemplar Educators of the Year
School Teacher
Beck Elementary Christie Montgomery
Berkshire Elementary Heather Stepp
Cox Elementary Kristin Martin
Curtis Elementary Sarah Waterman
Granger Elementary Jessica McConnell
Haslet Elementary Steffanie Joseph
Hatfield Elementary Krysta Kick
Hughes Elementary Niki Butley
Justin Elementary Katie Mastropiero
Lakeview Elementary Laura Janese
Lance Thompson Elementary Enriquita Espree
Love Elementary Kristina Clark
Nance Elementary Carole Beard
Peterson Elementary Michelle Wolther
Prairie View Elementary Kayla Coser
Roanoke Elementary Kasy Morgan
Schluter Elementary Britney Nichols
Sendera Ranch Elementary Bethany LeFlore
Seven Hill Elementary Mackenzie Davidson
Thompson Elementary Alexandria Novak
Secondary Exemplar Educators of the Year
School Teacher
Adams Middle School Kandle Pierce
Chisholm Trail Middle School Rachel Small
Medlin Middle School Kristy Butler
Pike Middle School Jordan Ricks
Tidwell Middle School Jessica Alexander
Wilson Middle School Michelle Bell
Byron Nelson High School Park Conner
Eaton High School Tracie Williams
Northwest High School Aaron Monaghen
Steele Accelerated High School Kendra Langston
Denton Creek Shelly Smith
 Employees of the Year
Category Employee & Location
Instructional Support Liliana Ramirez (Roanoke)
Support Services Lisa Black (Pike)
Administrative Support Brenda Mounce (Love)